You are here

The Authority Board comprises five male and five female Aboriginal custodians nominated by Northern Territory Aboriginal Land Councils, together with two Government appointees. Members are appointed by the Administrator of the Northern Territory for three-year terms and may be reappointed. The Board meets at least four times each year, in Darwin, Alice Springs and occasionally in regional parts of the Northern Territory.

The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Board are nominated by the Board and appointed by the Administrator. They must be of opposite gender. 

Current Board members

Northern Land Council Nominees

Ms Jenny Inmulugulu (Chairman)
Mr Jack Green
Mr Bobby Nunggumarjbarr

Central Land Council Nominees

Mr Philip Wilyuka (Deputy Chairman)
Ms Lynette Granites
Ms Veronica Lynch

Tiwi Land Council Nominees

Mr Walter Kerinauia Junior

Anindilyakwa Land Council Nominee

Mr Phillip Mamarika

Northern Territory Government-Appointed Nominees

Ms Leah Clifford
Mr Michael Tennant



Chief Executive Officer 

The Authority Chief Executive Officer is appointed by the Administrator of the Northern Territory. The CEO has overall responsibility for the day-to-day operations of the Authority and oversees staff in both the Darwin and Alice Springs Offices.

BenDr Benedict Scambary
Dr Scambary was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority in January 2008.
Dr Scambary is an Anthropologist with twenty years of experience working with Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory. Much of this experience is associated with the use and development of land and the conduct of research, agreement negotiation, dispute mediation and more recently, the protection of sacred sites.
Dr Scambary has completed a PhD in Anthropology that focuses on alternate forms of Aboriginal economic development in the context of agreements with the mining industry in Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory.

The Authority has a head office in Darwin and a regional office in Alice Springs.


AAPA Organisational Chart »